Constellation

Decentralized Knowledge (Academic DApp)

Hi Everyone –

I was filling out the TestNet registration and nearly wrote an essay in the ‘other comments’ section. It’s an idea I’ve been thinking about a lot lately, but have never really expressed it out-loud or asked for feedback.

I’m a scientist by training — think hardcore physics and astronomy — but have been very interested in aspects of blockchain and how dApps can help decentralize ‘the library of human knowledge’ in a way that is immune to attacks or the foolishness of the current regime (e.g. see the Trump administrations’ attempt at erasing climate change by limiting public access to resources on the topic). In my field — and I would assume others — there are services that host pre-print manuscripts of papers submitted for peer-review. This service (arxiv.org) is essentially owned, maintained, and hosted by Cornell University. I envision a future where knowledge is freely available and safe from malicious attacks and foolish government actions. If DAG is half as amazing as promised, I would like to try my hand at setting knowledge free.

Is something like this possible? I’m so used to dealing with centralized repositories I wouldn’t even know where to start. How much data can be shared/hosted by the nodes? Or am I completely misunderstanding the whole DApp thing?

Thoughts, comments, suggestion all welcome. Really excited about this project.

-Astro

Decentralizing knowledge management by liberating accessibility and the peer-review structure is a thrilling idea. To my best knowledge I don’t think too many people are worried about the server status of arxiv (or vixra and alternatives, all the way down to more longform article like wikis), who are ready to download and mirror anyway and the core issue here is not decentralization of open data. The design challenge is with quality evaluation.